As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today computers can perform translation where any material can be easily translated into various languages. Therefore, some people think that learning foreign languages is not required anymore. In my opinion, it is necessary to learn to understand the culture, history, and religion by learning the language of the foreign country.

With the use of the advanced software, one has the liberty to convert it into another dialect. However, in many cases it is observed that a word to word conversion has removed sentiments from the text, resulting in emotionless and unimpressive collection of words. Computers are just a machine and only grammar and syntactical rules of the language can be embedded to generate the translation. It can not capture the essence of the text.

Additionally, if one learns another language they can understand history and culture of the country. For example, people can gain knowledge about French literature and arts, by learning French. This enhances career prospects as well, in case someone wants to grow in tourism industry where multiple languages are spoken and discussed.

Learning foreign languages will cultivate intelligence in children as they can nuances and differences between the words. They will have the better audio ability and can communicate in subtle rhythm.

In contrast, we don’t deny the advantages computer takes us. Some translation software can immediately translate for us, saves valuable time for us while reading some foreign articles and material.

In the end, computers will never take the place of human interpreters as it is a programmed machine which lacks human intelligence. Hence it is essential for children to learn foreign languages.