Some people who have been in prison become a good citizen later. Some believe that having these people give a talk to school students is the best way to tell them about the dangers of committing crimes.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Crime education has been of top priority in virtually every country’s agenda. It is argued by some people that educating the students by delivering speech with ex-prisoners should be held at school as the most effective approach to inform them of the hazards of conducting criminal acts. While this argument can be justified to some extent, I hold a belief that there offers many possible alternatives of crime prevention.

On the one hand, I believe that having ex-inmates warning children and teenagers about the negative consequences of breaking the law plays an important role in educational system. This is because those who have first-hand experience in committing a crime absolutely are the real examples of being suffered from ripple effects by their unlawful activities, which can raise public awareness of the dangers of crimes. It can be illustrated by a series of educational programs on Vietnam Television. In which the students would have valuable chance to receive the share of offenders about detrimental impact on physical and mental health’s prisoners such as being inhibited personal freedom, lacking contact with family and relatives or being marginalized after discharging from prison which may lead to the lost life opportunities. Therefore, the teaching method by having rehabilitated people talking to students is beneficial for them.

On the other hands, I am convinced that there are more efficacious ways to prevent crimes than a former prisoner hold a talk. Primarily, the parents should become pioneers in educating children about the danger of engaging in crimes, since the home environment has been exerting a profound effect on the general awareness of adolescents. Moreover, the criminology should be taught at school as an obligatory subject so that students can have chance to get significant knowledge about crimes. Due to that, they will gain a clearer perception of how to avoid the criminal activities. Thus, it is clear that the combination of the family and educators is more efficient measure to protect the young from illegal acts.

In conclusion, although the crime education by the ex-inmate’s sharing is advantageous for school students, I think there are more effectual methods to educate students.