Some say all offenders should be sent to prison, other argue that there are better alternatives such as community work for those who commit minor crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

At present, some people believe that the government should let offenders send to prison, while others argue that people who commit minor crimes should be applied in community work. From my point of view, i would side with the latter statement.

On the one hand, dangerous offenders should be sent to prison.To tackcle crimes, longer prison sentences would act as a deterrent and would be one useful measure.The reason why is people will have to think twice before commiting offenses. This strict punishment should be imposed in serious criminals. For example, those who drive while intoxicated must serve a prison sentence because they endanger innocent lives.

However, there are alternative punishment for people who violate minor laws.Firstly, the state should apply a range of non-custodial sentences such as heavy fines and the confiscation of driving licences if motorists break the traffic law. It has made them aware of the need to adhere to limit speed when driving.Secondly, community work has succeeded in not only helping offenders reflect their actions but provide them with favourable environment to devote to their society. Collecting trash and garbage in 24/7, for example, is a soft sentence that make people to learn how to protect the environment.Another compelling measure is giving a hand with the elder and the handicaped which raises their awareness about sharing , especially for young people.

In conclusion, in order to deal with criminals, some cases should be sent to prison while some cases who offends a minor crime might do community work.