Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which they retire from work should be raised considerably.

To extent do you agree or disagree?

Currently, in many countries, the age at which people stop paid work tends to be between 55 and 65. In the past, with few people living beyond the age of 80, it was rare for anybody to enjoy more than 20 years of retirement. However nowadays, that figure is much more likely to 30, or even 40 years. Because of this, some people argue that the age at which people retire from paid work should be raised significantly. In my opinion, I believe that raising the retirement age serves no real purpose as it would lead to unemployment among the young ones and will result in dissatisfaction among the elderly because of limited time available to pursue other interests or hobbies.

Disadvocates of this point of view claim that rasing the age at which people retire can exacerbate unemployment rates among younger workers. Raising the retirement age means older workers remain in their jobs for extended tenures, leaving younger people with fewer vacancies to fill. For example, the proportion of manufacturing workers over the age of 55 in South Korea has risen nearly two-fold from 16 to 30 percent in the last ten years. This has been mainly attributed to older workers refusing to retire and government policy related to the retirement age, leading to millions of younger people failing to find work in the manufacturing industry.

Besides, I believe that retired people can have more time to pursue their own interests or contribute a great deal through sharing in family responsibilites such as child care. Thank to longer life expectancy, they can utilize to start their new hobbies, spend more time for themselves. Raising the retirement age will make them unhappy because of limited time available.

In conclusion, while permitting older people to enter the workforce can afford them greater financial independence, it can also put younger laborers in a difficult position in terms of finding work. That is why I believe that we should maintain the current requirement age and allow people to flourish in different ways when they finish paid employment.