Some schools put the most advanced students in separate classes from their peers so they can study more challenging materials.

Do the advantages of this practice outweigh the disadvantages?

In my country, it is quite common to separate the best students from others so they can learn more advanced subject matter. While this practice can benefit top students by ensuring they receive a sufficient challenge, I would argue against separating students this way because doing so is unnecessary, and it prevents an excellent opportunity for socialization.

Leveling students in school seems like a very natural thing to do. In many areas such as sports, music, or language study, it often makes sense to separate people by skill level. A beginning English student wouldn’t get very much out of an advanced English grammar course, for example. In these cases, allowing individuals of a similar level to practice and study together ensures an appropriate challenge for everyone. Of course, in basic academic areas such as math and writing, student skill levels will also vary widely. The benefit of separating students according to skill is that highly proficient students can progress at a faster pace, while lower-level students can have more time to develop.

But I would argue that this separation comes at a great cost. Kids need to learn how to work with others who have different skills, interests, and aptitudes. This is a basic part of proper socialization, which ought to be a main focus of schools. Separating students limits these socialization opportunities significantly. While it is true that students should be provided with material that is appropriate for their level, I would argue it is not necessary to divide students into different classes to accomplish this. These days, skilled teachers should learn how to assess different student levels in math or reading, and provide appropriate instruction and practice for students across the skill spectrum. This can happen when teachers devote most of class time to applied practice, where students can work on exercises alone or collaboratively and teachers provide feedback.

Therefore, even though there is educational value to separating students by ability, I believe a skilled teacher can create appropriately challenging learning experiences for students across a wide spectrum of skill levels. Schools should avoid separating students in order to create a valuable opportunity for socialization.