Some scientists believe that studying the behavior of 3-year-old children can tell which children would grow up to be criminals.

To what extent in your opinion is crime a product of human nature and is it possible to stop children from growing up to be criminals?

It is predicated on the assumption that research in three-year-old toddlers can detect their likelihood of committing crimes when growing up. Personally, I disagree with this hypothesis because the motives behind one criminal often vary from either their genetic endowment or the external factors. It is, however, feasible for adults to discourage young people from this destructive path.

To begin with, I believe it would be unwise to predicate that offending drives come from human nature while discounting the surrounding in which children are brought up. With regard to the former viewpoint, supporters believe that children are inherited certain temperaments from their parents. If born and raised by parents with deviant characteristics such as violence-oriented, deceptive and malicious, the young may take up some of these traits and maltreat the inferiors. This is probably added credence to the reasons why some argue that observing children’s behaviours can foretell their criminality.

However, I strongly hold a view that external environment can heavily influence on how a person would live his life. Given being born in a desperate condition with the absence of parental affection and proper education, there is every likelihood for a teenager to steal for food, or even do harm to others. Those juvenile delinquencies are, more or less, derived from circumstances rather than genes. Besides, an individual might involve in a despicable act due to his mundane greed of materialism or victory. With the fast-paced of modern life, yearns for wealth and fame has experienced an unprecedented tendency amongst the population. This, unfortunately, can mislead decent citizens to indulge in illegal practices such as fabrication, manipulation or corruption so as to make more profits, even at the expense of others’ safety.

Although offences are unavoidable in our life, there are still many tenable measures to curb the rate of juvenile crimes. First, parents and schools should design relevant approaches when teaching children at early age. The roots of serious criminality in young people often develop and flourish from adults. Therefore, to direct them to the right path, parents and teachers should set themselves as wholesome models in terms of manners and actions. An opened-discussion with these youngsters about criminals or draconian punishment may also act as a deterrent to educate them. Another way to promote a safer community with low crime rates is to accommodate children with better living condition whereby they are well-nourished and well-educated. In this respect, I believe governments should offer social allowance to shoulder the financial burdens of the parents during their upbringing. By doing that, the whole society will be more likely to thrive and prosper with less concern of being compromised by offenders.

In conclusion, to condemn criminals as a product of human nature alone is unjustified, and there are numerous ways for older people, comprising of parents, schools and governments, to discipline children as well as to deter them from offences.