Some students choose to study in another country for a time during high school or university. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad?

Going to a different country for high school or college has been a favored choice by many parents nowadays. While various benefits can be observed, other people also believe this would bring significant harm as well. This essay will discuss both views.

Supporters argue that allowing pupils to study overseas has several advantages. The first is good education students can acquire in another country different from their native one. This can be especially true to parents who are born and raised in developing countries such as Vietnam who want to get an advanced learning system for their children. Another bonus going abroad to study at high school and university level can have is personality development due to time spent apart from their families. Traits such as independence, responsibility, and tolerance towards different people and cultures could be easily reinforced. Consequently, students spending their high school or university years overseas can become more accomplished individuals for the opportunities in receiving better education and characteristics to succeed as a grown-up.

On the other hand, the drawbacks of this might be numerous. Foreign schools can provide better courses but there is an increasing number of internationally private high schools and colleges that open facilities in Vietnam. Besides, lots of solutions for training children's life skills can be thought of. Common examples are setting a spending limit for hobbies and pleasure and encouraging teenagers and young adults to take on part-time jobs which they're interested in. A significant downside of studying abroad is the intense financial burden on families. It can cost a fortune for parents who support their kids in this journey especially if their destination countries are US or UK. Furthermore, it could make a detrimental impact on students' psychological and emotional health.

In conclusion, the disadvantages are shown to be vast.