some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university to work or travel. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages ?

There is a topic of interest that whether pupils should have a year-long break for traveling or working. While having a gap year is beneficial to a certain extent, I believe that this phenomenon has an adverse bearing on students.

On the one hand, there are many compelling reasons why some people subscribe to the idea of taking a gap year. Firstly, it helps enrich students’ experiences. They can accumulate knowledge and hone their skills through exploring alien cultures, working or volunteering. For example, by joining in some charities, gap-year takers gain many practical skills like interpersonal or team-working skills, which can be extremely handy later in life. Secondly, delaying tertiary education for one year can afford high school seniors to have time to identify a suitable career path. Due to inadequate career guidance, many college students often drop out of university while studying; therefore, attending vocational training courses beforehand may allow them to find their true passions and cultivate relevant job skills.

On the other hand, despite all the benefits mentioned above, I contend that deferring university enrollment has some glaring disadvantages. Firstly, it is not uncommon that gap-year students suffer from being left behind. As it is hard for older students to be on the same wavelength with younger ones, they may face peer pressure which can drain their confidence. Secondly, students taking a gap year may struggle with resuming their education after distracting from formal schooling. Consequently, they easily lose their momentum and may not be able to keep up pace with their peers’ academic performance.

In conclusion, although taking a gap year has some substantive benefits, I would argue that its merits do not outweigh the drawbacks.