Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to the university, in order to travel or to work. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages ?

Over the past decades, it is noticeable that there is a tendency for students who are about to attend to university to take a gap year so that they can have time to travel or to work. While this tendency has several benefits, I hold an opinion that they could never overshadow the drawbacks for the following reasons.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that there are some disadvantages of taking one year off. Firstly, students can lose their interest in studying, many science research have pointed out that students who take a year off usually struggle with the academic environment when they come back after a time traveling or working. This can be a result from a cushy time and easy lifestyle without any pressure come from exams, tests or assignments. Furthermore, obeying rules and laws in university, meeting the deadlines and facing with oral tests, presentations are very challenging and painful. Secondly, managers and bosses can see these gap years just like a long vacation. These days, gap year is gaining popularity for itself. As a result, many managers can derive the advantages from it, especially when it relates to social activities, volunteer work or non-governmental organizations. But, many people fail in attempt to achieve some crucial achievements or cannot convey those precious experience. This can be prone to be suspected of professionalism, consistency and attentiveness.

On the other hand, notwithstanding above-mentioned drawbacks, I would argue that it will be a grave mistake to overlook some potential benefits of the value coming from gap year. One main advantage is travel, and this can actually help students. While the blue collar economy is transferring into white collar one, so that, fresh graduate is expected to have multi vital abilities, unfortunately, work-life is not able to communicate by all the theories or lectures they get from university. A gap year travel can be a perfect time for them to indulge in many different cultures rub in a majority of living conditions. Consequently, through those steps they can sharpen their skills and this can be constructive for their future. For example, traveling abroad in order to have a chance to see other cultures and this is an ideal way to collect valuable skills like time managing, adaptability, problem solving and so on. Moreover, another benefit that should be taken into account is that taking jobs in the initial time just like putting a first brick. Later on this can play a huge role when deciding their major. Statistics have showed that more than 36% of students wish they could choose a different major, this can be seen that students at that time are not able to draw a line between what they like and what they actually good at, from that impulsive decision will be made. In order to handle that situation, psychologist advice students to take some volunteer programs in order to discover themselves, their strengths and maybe their talents or inborn merits so that they can have a comprehensive understanding and see the desires of their lives. Eventually, seek for a unique university.