A number of students often opt to spend a year post school and pre- university, traveling or working. Although it's often argued that this wastes a lot of time, i believe that the advantages of this break outweighs the disadvantages.

The main disadvantage of this break is the waste of time. In other words, time that would otherwise have been spent studying, is spent on leisure or working and as a result, studying is ultimately delayed, consequently life in General. To illustrate, if a student decided to proceed to the university immediately post school, they would study and complete the university much faster and subsequently get a head start in life as opposed to one who preceded with traveling.

Despite this,The advantages outweigh the draw backs and among these are, Students get a much deserved break from study and An opportunity to work gives Students a better perspective of what they would want to major on, in the university. Firstly, A break between studies, gives students a chance to rest. Moreover, by the time they decide to continue their studies, they are refreshed thus ready to learn. For example, a saying goes, "all work and no play, makes Jack a dull boy." Secondly, an opportunity to work, provides room for one to decide what to major on in the university. In other words, it helps students decide their job preferences, Subsequently their career. For instance volunteering in our local clinic after highschool, made me decide to be a Nurse.

To sum up, Even though time is wasted taking a break between studies, it gives break and one gets to appropriately make a career choice, thus my opinion that it's advantages outweigh the disadvantages.