There has been a difference in opinion, in the unit of measure for a country's progress, in that, while most governments base it on the economic status of the country, other individuals argue that other types of progress are just as important. I believe that the economic status alone, isn't enough to quantify the developmental status of a country.

To begin with, a country may have an overall rich economic status, however, this won't necessarily translate to the standards of life of all its citizens. In other words, there may be a huge financial status gap between the poor and the rich people in a country, owing to the fact that financial empowerment might, not be within everyone's reach, therefore, if the status is based on the rich population, the poorer ones are disregarded, hence a clear picture of how things are is not captured. As a way of illustration, most countries termed as developed countries, have so many of its citizens struggling to make ends meet which unfortunately doesn't mirror the developmental status of that particular country.

On the other hand,I believe factors such as level of education and overall health status are equally important. This means that if the government should empower its citizens with education to provide a platform for everyone willing, to develop, Moreover, facilitate health and healthy living and thus life because without this aspect, there will be no citizens to rule. For instance in Kenya, education and treatment in all public institutions are free. This has seen to healthier, more educated community.

In conclusion,while economic growth is very vital to the development of a nation, other aspects such as education and health, need to be given a priority too.