Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to university, in order

As the world has been developing significantly in recent years, more and more students have chosen to take a gap year after they finished their high school years instead of going straight to university. However, whether a year off from university is beneficial or harmful is still a controversial topic. In my point of view, its huge advantages can eclipse its drawbacks.

On the one hand, people who show disapproval of gap years may cite these following reasons. Firstly, students who delay college by a year may have difficulty in integrating in educational environment once again. Because teenagers have been accustomed to the comfortable life outside schools, they cannot stand the enormous amount of homework, deadlines, presentations, oral examinations as well as stress and pressure coming from examinations which are compulsory and unavoidable at university and colleges. Secondly, students’ desire for education may wear off due to the allure of money they can earn during that year. For students who go to work, they can make a profit of their own; therefore, they can think of university as time-consuming and they don’t want to while away their working time taking tertiary education.

On the other hand, notwithstanding the above-mentioned disadvantages of deferring students’ admission to colleges by a year, I would argue that its bad effects cannot outweigh its advantages. A lot of researches taken recently have demonstrated that students who put off their enrollment in university for a year to go travelling are more prone to become well-rounded individuals. As the labour intensive economy is changing into the knowledge-based economy, futuristic citizens are required to have a set of qualities, not only academic knowledge. By travelling to different destinations, students will have chances to get access to other cultures, languages, lifestyles, etc.. ,which is a good way for them to sharpen their social skills and accumulate knowledge. Moreover, they can learn to live independently and become more mature as well. For example, a student who go on a trip to a foreign country have precious opportunities to practice and improve their soft skills such as time management skill, problem-solving skill and even language skill as well as enhance his or her adaptability to an unfamiliar environment.

One more benefit that should be taken into consideration of postponing colleges by a year is the accurate decisions it can bring in choosing majors through worthy experiences when school leavers participated in work. A statistic survey has represented that more than one third of university students wish to study a different major, which is a result of lacking practical experience and not differentiating clearly between what they want to learn and what they are good at. It is advised by psychologists that college students should take a year off to take part in work so that they will have a more obvious view of the one they want to pursue and what is more suitable for them. Furthermore, they are also able to exploit their strength, inborn merits and eagerness in order that they have full understanding of the majors they will study in universities.

In shorts, deciding to take a gap year means students will have to face with its drawbacks as well as advantages. However, as long as they don’t distract from their initial purposes, I believe that a year off will do them good.