It is quite common these days that, pupils have a break from education after schooling so that they can either travel or gain work experience. There do exist both advantages and disadvantages to this scenario. I perceive that the merits do not overshadow the demerits. This essay discusses both of them and provides information justifying my perception.

To begin with, a gap can disrupt the current learning pace to a great extent. This may affect the focus of students and consequently, makes it hard for them to concentrate. For example, a friend of mine had to work for a year after schooling and he was completely clueless and struggled while he was in the university as he was unable to focus. In addition to this, they may forget the previously learned topics due to the long break from education. The students not only need to put extra effort to revisit the completed syllabus but also perform poorly in current topics they learn as both are correlative. As an illustration, young people who skip studies for some time are less efficient compared to those who are continuously attending classes. Thus, both these situations have grim effects on the student's performance and may diminish their confidence.

On the other hand, this situation has advantages like helping the youth to relax. Since they are under pressure from exams and grades, this would be a great way to calm their nerves. For Instance, most students want to go on a vacation before attending grad school as they will be refreshed. Moreover, if they work they can gain work experience. A development of ideology regarding the practical work environment would be possible besides knowing to perform collectively with other people. Consider people who had been in a company, they are good at socializing and working as a team.

In conclusion, although there are few benefits of taking a gap prior to attending graduation they are clearly outweighed by the coexisting drawbacks. Hence this case is more disadvantageous rather than being advatageous.