Some think the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on how much they produce and sell. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is an opinion asserting that the most motivating way to have hard-working employees is paying salary based on their performances in selling or producing. However, I completely disagree with the given statement because it would not be possible or fair in all jobs and circumstances.

Firstly, the workforces' performances in some carrier could not be assessed by how much they produce or sell. Take doctors working in hospitals, for example; they cure sick visitors and follow their well-being and health condition. These services should be evaluated by other criteria like the sick people's satisfaction or doctors' commitment and punctuality. Hence, employees' salary in should be commensurate with their career jobs.

Secondly, in some situations, the concept of equal pay for equal production or sale would be immoral. In other words, some external factors may affect the rate of production or sale, which are beyond the workers' control. A good illustration of this would be unexpected extreme weather conditions, which could damage a farm's products. In such cases paying depended on employees' output, not only is unfair but also discouraging.

Finally, despite some belief, paying the production or selling staff salaries in proportion to their performances would not be the best method to improve individual motivation. That is, in many cases, the managers and executive principals would use other encouraging items such as perks and bonuses. In this respect, if such non-financial incentives come with the jobholders, they prompt to work hard.

In conclusion, in my firm conviction determining the amount of money that employees earn based on how much they produce or sell to have hard-working ones is impossible or unfair in many cases. Instead of it, other motivating items could be even more efficient.