Some think the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on how much they produce and sell. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is an opinion asserting that the most motivating way to have hard-working employees is paying salary based on their performances in selling or producing. However, I completely disagree with the given statement because this way would not be possible or fair in all jobs and circumstances.

To begin with, the workeforces’ performances in some carrier could not be assessed by how much they produce or sell. Take doctors working in hospitals for example; they cure sick visitors and follow their well-being and health condition. These services should be evaluated by other criteria like the sick people’s satisfaction or doctors’ commitment and punctuality. Hence, employees’ salary in should be commensurate with their career jobs.

Another point is that in some situations the concept of equal payment for equal production or sell would be immoral. In other words, some external factors may affect on the rate of production or sell, which are beyond the workers’ control. A good illustration of this would be unexpected extreme weather conditions, which could damage to products of a farm. In such cases paying depended on employees’ output not only is unfair but also discouraging.

Finally, despite the some believes, paying the production or selling staff salaries in proportion to the amount of their achievement would not be the best method to improve individual motivation.That is, in many cases the managers and executive principals would use other encouraging items such as perks and bonuses. In this respect, if such non-financial incentives come with the jobholders, they prompt to work hard.

In conclusion, it is my firm conviction that determining the amount of money employees earn based on how much they produce or sell in order to have hard-working ones is impossible or unfair in many cases. Instead of it there are other motivating items which could be even more efficient.