Some think the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on
how much they produce and sell.
To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?
One of the responsibilities of a manager is to motivate their employees to increase their
performance. However, I strongly disagree that basing their salaries on their rates of
production and sales would be the most effective method. (37 words)
The performance in many cases cannot simply be quantified in terms of sales or
production. A teacher’s job, for example, is to teach classes, assess homework, and
provide students with feedback, none of which involves producing or selling any goods. In
this case, it is the performance of her students and their levels of satisfaction with
aspects of her performance such as rapport or punctuality that decide how successful he
has been. (72 words)
Furthermore, the performance of many workers is greatly affected by external factors
beyond their control. The state of the economy, unexpected political developments, and
extreme weather conditions can all have significant impacts on how much a worker can
sell or produce. A hurricane, for example, can easily devastate a farm and all its produce
without its workers being responsible for any of the damages or the ensuing drop in
production rates. Basing wages on sales or production rates would actually demotivate
workers in such cases. (85 words)
Some may argue that it is difficult to assess anything other than a worker’s output,
making any other form of appraisal less effective. However, managers these days have
tools such as questionnaires and Customer Relations Management platforms that allow
them to form a relatively clear picture of a worker’s overall performance. (85 words)
In conclusion, I think deciding how much an employee should earn based solely on their
sales or production figures would be both impossible and unfair in most, if not all, cases.
Instead, employers should look at a more diverse set of performance indicators, including
customer satisfaction and punctuality.