Some think that watching sport is a waste of leisure time.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by many that viewing recreational activities during free time is a non-judicious use of this period. This essay outlines why I completely disagree with this idea, which includes the relaxing effect of watching sport and its safety.

To begin with, watching games as a hobby relaxes the body and mind. It is a passive activity which means that the body is in a restive state, while attention is focused only on what is being watched at that moment. This distracts the mind from other stressful events and multitasking, allows the body as well as the mind to unwind and the viewer becomes more relaxed. In addition, watching a game of interest with a group, such family as and friends for instance, makes it more enjoyable as quality time is spent with loved ones and consequently a refreshing and productive leisure time.

Another point to consider is that watching recreational sport is safe. People are usually comfortably positioned, for example seated on chairs or lying down in their homes and are therefore protected from sport related injuries such as falls and trauma, which could be very fatal during that period. Furthermore, physical contact is not required when people watch contact games such as rugby and handball, thus sport injury is prevented . Hence, watching games connotes a high level of safety and as such not a waste of a person's free time.

In conclusion, there are varying opinions regarding the choice of free time activities. Some, people believe that recreational sport viewers are wasting their time. I totally disagree with this opinion because watching games during leisure is refreshing and safe.