Some universities are offering online courses as an alternative to classes delivered in campus.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Online classes are being offered in several universities to alter the conventional way of teaching method. In my opinion, this can be a positive development of education due to its benefits of accessibility as well as efficient operation.

Converting conventional education classes to online platform can make the education itself more accessible to a larger quantity of students. First of all, distancing barrier is often a major issue of students who living far from schools. Therefore, instead of traveling a long distance, they can attend classes with others through online education platform at homes or nearby places. Secondly, in some nations, online courses are often more affordable compared to conventional ones at universities. Ivy League’s universities offers several in-person classes that cost thousands of dollars while the same courses on their website only charge a few hundred which makes these classes more accessible to wider range of students.

The transformation of classes from offline to online also improves universities operation in financial aspect as well as administration. Education facilities require maintenance within a particular period of time which raises expenditure of universities. By executing online courses, some infrastructures such as classrooms could be reduced in both size as well as amenities which save a large amount of money. In addition, online courses can have more efficient utilization of human resource compared to conventional classes, regarding the same quantity of lecturers, by taking advantage of recording video. One online course can have much larger class size and be watched multiple times after ending while in-person ones have limited capacity of size as well as lectures in a same time.

In conclusion, I believe that offering courses on online platforms is most likely to be a beneficial teaching solution compared to traditional way at universities due to the increase of accessibility and efficiency.