Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online.

In recent times due to the epidemic crisis, universities are considering the best strategy for offering students the opportunity to enroll in them. Some believe that hosting courses online is the best way to move forward, while others strongly disagree. I personally believe that to decide, if this is a positive or negative development, we should consider its long-term benefits for students.

First and foremost, attending classes online is an economically friendly decision, since foreign students from different parts of the world would not be required to spend extra money on traveling and housing. All they need to do is to pay their tuition fees. Secondly, recent studies indicate that a person is more efficient, when he works in his natural environment, e.g. his home, and is not distracted by his surroundings. Thirdly, online learning seems to be the best approach to remain socially distanced and protect ourselves from spreading diseases.

On the other hand, many people believe that e-learning could never completely substitute the traditional ways of teaching. Especially in higher education the purpose is not only teaching. Education is the starting point for exchanging opinions and interacting with different people. In addition, some say that on-line studying does not offer the chance to students to network and find jobs after graduating, since they lose the opportunity to study on campus, meet their professions in person, and take job interviews. Although there is some truth to the above-mentioned considerations, this does not mean that offering classes online is a negative development.

In conclusion, I believe that studying online in terms of saving money and being more efficient is the best choice and should be encouraged as an alternative to the more traditional types of teaching.