Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that online courses presented by universities are becoming common nowadays. I believe they have more benefits than drawbacks.

There are many arguments against the online courses; firstly, there is less-directed interaction. Students do not have the chance to communicate verbally with the teachers. They use the keyboard to type their questions or suggestions. This may affect the teaching process badly. The communication between students also will not present. They cannot discuss their knowledge or exchange their ideas appropriately. They may use websites forums to meet each other electronically. Secondly, being separated from each other, students lack the spirit of competitiveness, so they will lose the motivation to work hard. Thirdly, fake courses carrying names of prestigious universities may deceive applicants and steal their money.

Despite the disadvantages mentioned above, I, strongly argue that the online courses have many advantages. Flexibility is one of the greatest benefits. Students can study at their own pace in a convenient schedule. They may complete the curricula faster than those who study at the standard classroom. The cost of the university education will decrease as the applicants will use their own computers and will not go to the university facilities. Accessibility is another benefit. Internet-based learning is open to all people with different ages, genders, or races. For example, my uncle who is 55 years old, applied to an MBA online course. He does not need to travel to the USA to get his degree.

In conclusion, online learning could have drawbacks, but its benefits are more.