In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about how the government should control the rise of the high salaries. Although there are many advantages for paying good money, I strongly believe that there should be a limit for the maximal wages.

People who support earning huge salaries, have some reasons; firstly, getting a lot of income will motivate them to continue to work hard and upgrade themselves. They may apply to more training and get further qualifications to join prestigious companies. Secondly, they believe that getting paid huge salaries is their rights. They suffered a lot and worked hard for many days so they deserve equal rewards. For example most of the private sector companies are running by this principle, when an employee works hard, he earns more. Finally, they claim that if they earn huge salaries, they will pay more tax to the government. As a result of this, more national income will be achieved and other benefits could reach the whole community.

Despite the advantages mentioned above, there are several reasons why I believe that a certain limit should control the top salaries. Firstly, the financial gap between the rich and the poor will be widened. The rich will be richer and the poor will go deeper in poverty. People may become frustrated and demotivated to work. They may commit crimes so the crime rates will rise. Secondly, it is unfair that the majority of wealth is controlled by a small group of people, while the majority of people suffer. This may disrupt the standard of living and ruin the concept of social equality. Finally, it is illogical that certain professions earn a lot of money in a form of strange discrepancy to the performed efforts. For example, football players and movie stars earn huge amount of money after working or playing for a period of two hours. On the other side, other jobs like postmen and cashiers are getting extremely low salaries.

In conclusion, it may appear reasonable to not to restrict the increase in the top salaries, but I argue that the high salaries should be kept under certain limit that gives the hard workers their rights and also protects the poor.