In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom.

Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

Digital security using cameras has become popular recently in many places for security purposes. I believe that its advantages are more than its disadvantages.

It is obvious that, most of the shops and firms are being monitored by video recording system. This system helps the owners to continually watch their properties, even they are at far distance. Robbers and shoplifters are afraid of being captured on the screens, so they prefer to stay away from places that are under video-surveillance. This helps the owners to protect their facilities. In crowded places, also, robberies could be committed easily without being noticed from the ordinary guards, but video cameras have the ability to capture these crimes in detail. As a result of this , police officers find it easy to arrest the offenders without huge efforts. Many innocent people could be saved from jail, if there was a recording camera at the crime scene. For example, I saw a movie that was based on a true story talking about a murder crime and an innocent lady went to the jail because the criminal touched her coat with his bloody hands, and she only moved the crime weapon away from her road to the car. Unfortunately there was no camera.

Lack of freedom is the main reason that makes people disagree about recording cameras. They believe that they are under control and each move they make, will be counted against them. Another drawback is that the wide usage of the programmed-cameras will replace guards and policemen. As a result of this, people will not feel safe. Moreover, hackers could find a way to switch off the whole camera system and commit crimes easily.

In conclusion, I support the use of video cameras because their pros are more than the cons.