In many cities, the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweight the drawbacks?

People have different views about whether using closed-circuit television is being increased to decrease crime or invading our privacy. While some people think video cameras in public spaces can be an invasion of privacy, I am of the opinion that the benefits outweight the drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why people may reject using video cameras in public places. Firstly, these cameras might infringe upon our privacy, in the sense that all our actions are recorded and these recordings can be misused because individuals’ pictures are likely to be stolen for bad purposes. In other words, these pictures might be shared on the social networks without our agreements. Secondly, we may always have feeling of being followed and this can lead to feeling more nervous and scared than safe.

Despite the drawbacks mentioned above, I do believe that using surveillance cameras public has positive effects. The CCTV cameras could decrease crime rate and deter criminals before crimes are committed. Offenders could be less likely to operate in some places of cities where they know they are being watched. For example, offenders may always take advantages of people’s weakness in the public spaces to operating criminal acts such as stealing their wallets or other personal property. However, if these places equipped with video cameras, that can improve public safety and reduce pretty crimes. In addition, when crimes are committed, police officers can base on video evidence to catch and accuse offenders so that surveillance cameras could support police officers make cities more safe for citizens.

In conclusion, I can understand why some people might disapproval public video cameras, but it seems to me that CCTV is much more helpful in our life.