In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays people prefer to stay alone. Although there are many advantages for living alone by oneself, I argue that it has a lot of negative consequences.

When a person lives by himself, he may get a lot of benefits. First, he will have few responsibilities. He will have to serve himself at home. He may cook his favourite food and clean his clothes. He will not have an obligation to wake up his children or spouse or to drive them to school or work. Second, being alone paves the way to success. Many successful people claim that distraction leads to failure. As people focus on their careers and avoid wasting their time with others, they may success in their lives. Third, financially, the cost might decrease, as the lonely will only purchase their exact needs without extras or for storage. Finally, the house will be calm and relaxing if it is occupied by one person.

On the other side, a lot of problems could happen to people when they are alone. For example, the elderly may suffer emergent health issues that need someone to call the ambulance for them. They may have heart attacks or may faint without being noticed from the neighbourhood. Another aspect is the mental health. People, by nature, tend to socialize. They like to share their daily life events with others. For example, Facebook and instagram show us how people like to tell their friends or followers about details of their lives. If this part of socializing is missing, psychic problems might appear. People may suffer depression or anxiety disorders. They may even commit suicide. Another issue is the help at home that is needed sometimes. People need someone to help them in cooking or paying bills. They may also need a hand during fixing damaged pipes or gardening.

In conclusion, it might appear relaxing for people to be alone; however, I believe many disasters could happen when being alone.