Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about which aspect of life has the highest priority of governmental interests; whether it is economy, education or health. Although there are arguments suggesting that economy is the most vital sector, I believe that other aspects like education and heath are more vital than economy.

It is believed that economy needs more care from the governments for several reasons; firstly, a well-developed economy means more money. If a country has extra money, it can improve all sectors of life. Education will be better. Health insurance will cover all the citizens. Scientific research will funded without limits. Secondly, the better the economy, the more stable the country. If a nation has a good financial reputation, businessmen will trust its governmental laws and regulations, so they will be motivated to invest their money. Perhaps they could start new projects and create new jobs for the locals, so unemployment will decrease and the crime rate will fall. Finally, more money means more power. Internationally, the strongest countries are the ones that spend more on their military power. They can launch wars or protect their allies from enemies. This is the reason why nations race each others to have a flourished economy.

Despite the reasons mentioned above, I think that education and health are more important than economy. Health is the cornerstone of the national workforce. If the workers are physically-fit, they can work better and achieve more. If young people have heart or lung diseases, they will not be able to work difficult jobs or accomplish tasks in time, so the government will direct its spending towards treating them instead of developing the infrastructure or improving the scientific research. Education, also, is more critical than economy. Well-educated employees can develop new ways of performance at work, or invent new machines that could save money and efforts. Ambitious countries began their success stories by improving their educational systems like South Korea.

In conclusion, the national economy may appear to be important, but I strongly believe that health and education have the top importance.