Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Online learning is provided at several universities to substitute for traditional classrooms. Despite some drawbacks of this development, I believe they are eclipsed by its advantages.

On the one hand, there are two major drawbacks of distance-learning programs at tertiary education. First, studying via the Internet often lacks face-to-face contact thus hindering students’ learning efficiency. Through online platforms, classroom interaction is rather limited making it hard for students to ask for clarification or receive direct feedbacks from teachers. This, therefore, leads to their low level of lesson’s comprehension. Second, attending e-learning courses requires considerable discipline from learners. Students who tend to procrastinate or struggle with work-life balance may fail to complete the course’s requirements.

On the other hand, I believe that the values are more significant than such disadvantages. To begin with, web-based classes offers learners considerable flexibility in terms of learning pace. With technological devices such as smartphones and laptops, students are able to engage themselves in self-paced studying, which means that they are allowed to study at their personal speed and level. Unlike traditional learning, this new method enables learners to focus on areas they need to improve rather than following the same path as other peers. Another benefit of virtual classes is that they are suitable for students from various backgrounds thanks to their accessibility. For instance, learners with restricted mobility such as physical handicaps or injuries are likely to opt for this form of learning as they have great difficulties in commuting to schools. For those who come from remote areas or stay far away from school campuses, learning through the Internet is highly favorable.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the merits of online learning programs at higher education systems are notable than its downsides.