Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In today's ever-changing world, several universities are replacing some of the traditional lecture models with online learning platforms. In my opinion, this is both positive and negative impacts on student's learning outcomes.

On the one hand, there are many benefits of integrating technology in education. Firstly, technology provides different opportunities to make learning more fun and enjoyable in terms of teaching the same things in new ways. Students who are engaged and interested in what they are studying, for example, are expected to have better knowledge retention. Access to the Internet gives students access to a broad range of resources to conduct research in different ways, which in turn can increase engagement. Secondly, both teachers and students can develop their practical skills essential for the 21st century by using technology in the classroom. Modern technology is about collaborating with others, solving complex problems, critical thinking, developing various forms of communication and leadership skills, and improving motivation and productivity. What is more, personalized learning models can help develop many practical skills, including creating presentations, learning to differentiate reliable from unreliable sources on the Internet, maintaining proper online etiquette, and writing emails.

On the other hand, I think it is also a negative movement for most students. Firstly, no face-to-face interaction is one of the main drawbacks of online learning, which leads to lower study results compared to the traditional learning models. For example, some courses specializing in doctor, engineer,... only theoretical knowledge is not a better solution in this case. Secondly, as a lot of self-discipline is required and there are so many distractions from the Internet while studying from an online website, students are more likely to procrastinate. This also contributes to lower academic transcripts as students may tend to lose focus during online lessons.

In conclusion, in the pandemic periods, an online learning platform is an outstanding measurement, but in the long term, a conventional learning environment should be maintained owing to the arguments presented above.