Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do think is better?

There is often said that most adults are hurrying to start to live separate from their parents. Others say that some of them choose to be with their nuclear family for a longer period. I strongly believe that to begin living on their own without the parents helps us to rise as a successful individual.

As far as I am concerned a response to this idea varies in every country. In eastern culture, for example in Uzbekistan, staying with the parents is accepted as a normal behavior and usually the youngest son will live with them forever so the house where they live is going to him as a heritance automatically. No other child of family are going to fight for this house with exception of some rare situations. There is the reason of course, why other children tolerate this because anyway they will have one also as a gift or will get huge support from their parents. The Uzbek parents strive all their life to create a decent standard of living for each of their children and therefore they have less time to travel or enjoy their life in retirement. On top of that some of them might earn an illness which hinders to reside properly. And some children take this sacrifices as granted and not value them.

On the other side adult independent child could achieve the success that those people who are dwelling with their families can only dream of. Obviously at the beginning it is going to be tough leaving our comfort zone. For example for the adult child in the USA it is normal situation to become independent and it sounds strange when they continue living in parents’ house. Most of them have clear view of their future and certain goals so they follow them. I am convinced that the children will have a mature mindset and be mentally ready for the independent life, if they know from early age that they are going to live separate from their parents when they reach the age of 18.

All in all to be independent from parents has a huge positive impact for the future success of an individual.