Nowadays it becomes more and more popular to take a "gap year" whatever your age is, but some people complain about the negative effect. We will look at the different aspects of year travelling and argue if it can be both beneficial and cause problems.

There are certainly several benefits to take a year of travel. Firstly, it teaches responsibility. Due to the fact that it is usually taken by school graduates, a year of being separated from home typically makes them mature and reliable. As a result, they study and work much better.

Secondly, travelling helps to make new friends and checks old ones. For instance, a person meets new people and makes new connections with them, which can last for the whole life. He also discovers if his/her friends are true, so he/she can rely on them. As a result, relationships develop.

That said, there are also some disadvantages to travel for all year. First of all, it is always expensive. To travel for a long time person have to have a large amount of money. It is not always possible to earn them "on place", so it can be a real problem. Another example of drawback is the possibility of thinking that "gap year" is too interesting, so there can be no desire to end it and back home to the work or formal education.

Therefore, I strongly believe that travelling for one year can drastically change lives and it is largely beneficial, but only if done with controls.