Some young people look forward to a year of travelling a gap year before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons For others this is an expensive waste of time Discuss both view and give opinion

In recent years, certain young citizens opt for a gap year before deciding to study at a university or work at a company. They argue that this is an advantage for them to understand themselves and the world before getting serious. However, other people believe that this is not a great idea and people are squandering their resources. From my perspective, both arguments have a fair point, and I will further elaborate in this essay.

Most people have to choose a career or a major to follow after graduating from high school, however, it is not everyone knows exactly who they want to be in the future. It seems to be a fair suggestion that a gap year is a great opportunity for those people to figure it out. By travelling to various places, people are exposed to different cultures and offered a chance to reflect on themselves. For instance, after travelling to Africa and seeing the problems of hapless people in those areas, travellers, who have not decided their career path, might desire to be a politician in order to help unlucky individuals or families. In addition, since they are travelling and interacting with a lot of people, various social skills and soft skills might be obtained which could beneficial later on.

Although there is some truth to these ideas, it is also true to say, for those who already know exactly who they want to be in the future, this gap year is not quite necessary. Generally speaking, instead of spending a huge amount of time and money on a year just to fall behind, they could focus on their goals either in their career or in studying. To be a doctor in most cases, for example, would take people six to eight years of studying until officially become an expert. Thus, this one year of travelling might be a superfluity or a backfire.

In conclusion, travelling for one year is certainly necessary for certain people, however, it is unessential for those who have had to make up their mind about their future. Therefore, I believe people should take a gap year, if affordable when they are unsure about colleges or universities.