Space exploration is a controversial topic. Some people believe that resources should be invested in exploring space, while others argue that this money could be better spent on more pressing problems on Earth, such as poverty and climate change. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the question that whether nations should allocate budget to research about other planets has become a contentious topic. Whilst it has been argued by some that this investment is valuable, others hold the thought that it is better to spend money on more ugent issues. Both points of view have rational reasons which will be elaborated on in this essay but personally I agree with the later assertion.

On the one hand, there are good grounds to argue that findings from space investigation could brings significant benefits in terms of human life and economy. First and foremost, it might open a promising new environement for people in case the life on Earth will fall into extinction in the future. Indeed, since the Earth’s habitat in recent years has become more and more hostile with detrimental climate changes threatenning the human life, looking for a new planet to live may be an effective solution that should be considered. In addition, should researches on outer planets be conducted, valuable minerals, such as gold, titanium, and so on, having high economic value might be discovered. As a result, instead of exploiting the Earth for natural resources, people can take the advantage of other sources from the space to serve the economy.

On the other hand, I believe that it is better for national authorities, to put their priority on other more pressing problems, especially poverty and climate change. Firstly, in most developing and undeveloped countries, it is indisputable that the government cannot help all citizens to have good life quality let alone spending money on space researches. For instance, in Africa, it has been witnessed that a huge amount of people cannot access basic needs for life and well education so budget should be used to address this problem. Secondly, decades has been withnessed that global climate changes have impact negatively on the Earth’s life while finding a new planet to live is not an easy way but costs a fortune and takes a lot of time. Therefore, to solve this problem immediately, the government should implement policies to heal the Earth such as investing on alternative energy sources and planting trees.

In conclusion, although researches on universe comes up with certain benefits, it is only should be invested by wealth nations while national money should be taken for other more important issues.