Space exploration cost tax payers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages of spending money on space exploration?

Technological advancement has become one of the competing races amongst most advanced countries of the world. Out of many technology researches, space exploration is one, that most governments spend their annual budget on which is more praiseworthy than disgraceful.

To begin with, the development of internet, a product of space research, has made it possible for the entire earth to be considered a global village. People can communicate within and outside the earth and also know the current affairs of the world by sitting next to their gadgets. Moreover, it is satellites that has been helping to understand earth and its life forms including the universe clearly from a distance. Life wouldn’t have become so easy hadn’t this innovation helped predict the past, present and future of the earth’s processes. For example, prediction of soon approaching disasters has saved millions of lives by alerting probable victims and taking actions pronto.

The flipside of it is that the significant share of citizens tax has been argued to be spend on secondary things like this one where more important aspects of human life such as curing epidemics, fighting poverty and so on should be of priority. For instance, instead of spending large sum of money on space shuttles, developing infrastructures on the ground that would help reduce drudgery of the marginalized people by providing employment for unemployed people, medication for patients with life threatening diseases such as AIDS and cancer and facilitating easy movement from one place to other.

To sum up, while there exist drawbacks for prioritizing outer space research that consumes huge share tax payers money, benefits are more as space exploration advancement is making life easier on earth by warning about disasters, facilitating researches from outside the earth surface among others.