Space travel has been made sometime and people think that space tourism will be probably developed in the future. Do you think space travel would be a positive and negative development?

Thanks to the emergence of state-of-the-art innovation, travelling beyond the Earth became possible and it is expected to gain the popularity in the next decades. This tendency will exert a double-edged impact, which I will discuss below.

To begin with, people in favor of space travel point out its benefit in terms of leisure and exploration. In fact, the desire of discovering new things is inherent in humans’ thoughts; thus, outer space, which is full of interesting mysteries, is deemed as a potential destination for tourists. In other words, travelling through the universe may satisfy people’s unlimited demand on leisure thanks to its exceptional attractiveness. Another advantage can be reaped in the field of science. Indeed, such journeys provide crucial data of how people’s biological features change to adapt to the loss or modification of gravity, which cannot be collected precisely in casual experiments on the Earth. As human being has been dealing with many global challenges, threatening our existence, this information plays an important role in the urgent mission of exploring a potential alternative planet.

On the other hand, the trend toward space travel also leads to several drawbacks. Indeed, it is inevitable that the adventure would release a substantial amount of space debris, making it more dangerous for spacecraft to transport. In addition, regarding to state-owned space travel projects, the exorbitant expenditure may exert a financial burden on the government. Therefore, it is can be seen that prioritizing the mission beyond the Earth over ones on the Earth, states may be constrained to fulfill requirements on resolving social issue, like welfare of public security.

In brief, while not disavowing the benefits of aerospace travel, I believe that it is a negative development because the advantages cannot outweigh the disadvantages.