Some people think governments should spend money on faster means of transport. However, others think money should be spent on other priorities (e.g: environment, cost). Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Determining the most urgent priority for government spending has been high on agenda for decades. While many people appreciate other issues like environment or cost, I believe that the authority should channel its budget into improving public transportation.

On the one hand, the importance of many priorities is considered to dominate that of state-run transport system because of several reasons. Firstly, although faster public means of transport is beneficial, surveys in many countries show that they bring about an inadequate outcome. For example, it was reported that despite a 10-percent in speed of light rail transport, its utilization did not obtain a proportional increase in New York, making the state’s project an unwise decision. By contrast, a spending for tackling other heated challenges like environmental degradation, or soaring crime rate can contribute to a comprehensive improvement, which is taken advantage by people around the country rather than in a narrow region. As an organ responsible for assuring social equality, it will be acceptable if the government prioritizes its expenditure on these issues.

On the other hand, I concur with the view that funding should be provided to upgrade public transport systems. From an economical perspective, there has been a consensus that faster vehicles can decrease journey time. Hence, citizens and firms can shorten their commuting and delivery duration, leading to a higher profit because of a lower overhead cost. In addition, allocating resources to public transport infrastructure, the authority is thought to adopt a multi-purpose policy, which resolves an excessive load of problems. Indeed, upgraded state-run vehicles are expected to discourage uses of private ones and, therefore, ease traffic flow. Not only does this help prevent traffic congestion but also reduces contamination of harmful gases, the major cause of air pollution.

Briefly, while not disavowing impacts of other issues, it seems to me that a faster public transportation should be prioritized by states.