Some people say that sports play an important role in society. Others think it is nothing more than a leisure activity.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Evaluating properly the importance of sports has been a heated topic in the past few years. While I consent to its implication for social joyfulness, I opine that sport also plays a pivotal role in today’s community.

On the one hand, it has been widely recognized that sports have become a prevalent leisure activity in many nations. Indeed, traditional sports are always integrated into festivals and celebration, aimed to help people have a whale of time. To be more specific, thanks to these activities, citizens are able to enlarge their circle of friends, socialize with acquaintances and, therefore, relax after a long time dealing with a hectic working schedule. In addition, sports have also been a top priority for residents after being engrossed in paper works. Particularly, according to a recent study, 80% of surveyed white-collar workers reported taking up sports after work in hopes of letting off steam, since a heavy workload usually leaves them stressful and mentality exhausted.

On the other hand, I believe that sports exert discernable positive influences on the whole population, which are far beyond its application for entertaining purposes. From a health perspective, no sooner do residents work out at the gym or take a gentle exercise than they can tighten their muscles, consume their calories and build up their immune system. As a result, getting involved in sporting events will contribute to a lower incidence of degenerative illnesses, such as obesity, metabolism disorders, leading to a lower expenditure for medical services. From an education perspective, if sports become mandatory subjects in schools, it will be scientifically proven to be beneficial for students, which fosters their passion for physical activities and instills the Olympic ideal. Therefore, it is an appropriate method of educating children to be a good team player, a vital skill when they pursue a successful future career.

In conclusion, while not disavowing the happiness brought about by sports, it seems to me that their essential role in the society should not be underestimated.