Space travel has been possible for some time and some people believe that space tourism could be developed in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Technological advances have enabled human exploration of not only our galaxy but also the whole universe and opens up a chance of traveling to outer space as a service of tourism. As it is believed to be a promising area of tourism which brings myriad benefits to travellers, I am strongly convinced that the demerits may outweigh the merits.

It is a fallacy to consider space tourism as a feasible way to broaden our knowledge about the universe. Advocates of such view may argue that such direct personal experiences would be the driving force for finding further mysteries of the space rather than observing it through the astronomical telescope. However, this kind of experiences is only efficient for space scientists and astronauts since they have sufficient knowledge to understand the dynamics of the planets or even more incredibly – other universes. This means that such ordinary people would not have the capability to study the space but simply enjoy it as a sight-seeing trip. It is open to the question whether passenger of such service could apply what they learn from the journey to their daily working life. The answer may be varied, but I doubt that only a few space-related professionals could say yes.

On the other hand, I am more of the opinion that space tourism would exert huge negative impact on the environment of the planet Earth. Every time an aircraft is launched into the space, it releases an abundant amount of exhaust fumes which equals hundreds of in-use vehicles doing simultaneously. Considering that in our alerting air-contaminated situation, launching aircrafts for the purpose of tourism would do nothing but exacerbate the greenhouse effect. Additionally, the ozone layer surrounding our planet as a protection against the harmful rays of the sun would be damaged by constant launches of spacecraft, and as a predictable result, the living condition in the earth might be worse than ever.

In conclusion, while space travelling could equip human-being with knowledge about the uncovered universes, it could not bring benefits to the general populace. My firm belief is that outer-space trips would do more harm to our atmosphere.