: sport is a big business, with high earnings for professional sports people and a lot of companies involved both financially and other ways. Is it a negative or positive development?

The sport industry has become one of the most profitable areas in the world that it attracts a huge number of investments from sport enterprises in terms of finance and goods recently. I am more convinced that this phenomenon brings in myriad benefits to not only some concerned individuals and corporations but also the improvement of tourism profits.

To commerce with, sponsorship from sport companies creates a win-win commercial situation for the companies itself and professional players. Thanks to this investment, athletes is one of the most well-paid jobs in the world, making it a motivation for those professionals to perform the most out of their capability without worrying about financial problems. In turn, sponsors of sport activities also make a killing since they receive a massive share from selling classical match tickets to audiences. Another huge pay-off for sport goods manufacturer is selling products that sponsored to well-known athletes such as football shoes, clothes, and so on. Taking the brand Nike for example, thanks to the co-operated commercial with football stars in 2010, their sale grew significantly at 20% in the next 2 years, making its products one of the most famous items among football fans.

In addition, investing in sport is also a feasible way to boost up tourism profits. According to statistics, one out of ten people in the world is enthusiastic with at least one particular sport, making these people become high potential target visitors to countries which are famous for sport. In fact, a lot of nations have succeeded in attracting these visitors by the development of sport such as Brazil, England, and Germany. A huge number of sport enthusiasts are willing to pay a visit to the Old Trafford stadium of the football team Manchester United is the concrete evidence for the benefits of investing in sport.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the idea that the sponsorship of enterprises in the sport industry is doing a wonderful job in financially supporting professional athletes and also developing local tourism benefits.