In spite of the advances made in agriculture many people around the world still go hungry Why is this the case What can be done about this problem

Over these years, famine has been one of the most important topics that many countries are concerned about. Despite the fact that many scientists have already developed some farming methods, lots of people in impoverished countries are still starving. To delve deeply into this issue, this essay will explore the causes of hunger and provide possible solutions to this situation.

In fact, this disturbing phenomenon is attributed to natural disasters and wars. To begin with, drought is the first factor contributing to starvation. There is some evidence that in some countries around the equator, the high temperature and less precipitation are the culprits of serious drought, which in turn will lead to the death of crops. Owing to a series of poor harvests, people will have insufficient food and suffer famine. In addition, warfare is another reason for this predicament. In some war-torn/war-ravaged countries in the Middle East, for example, food that is usually rationed during the wartime is one of the most vital things for the troops. Since a large proportion of food is first provided for the army, civilians are likely to experience food shortage during their daily life.

Despite the negative impacts, the actions that we could take to resolve the problems do exist. In the first place, the United Nations and the WHO should take measures to address the problem of famine since they play a crucial role in securing all people’s health. They can send out some extra food collected from developed countries to those countries ravaged by famine. Meanwhile, scientists have already developed a special irrigation method to deal with the death of crops caused by water shortage, so the United Nations should try to aid those famine-stricken countries in building a farm with that unique irrigation way. Thus, the crisis of starvation might be solved in the long run.

In conclusion, famine is a complex problem that affects a lot of people nowadays. There is no single cause of hunger, but natural disasters and warfare are the two main contributors to it. Nevertheless, the effect of food shortage around the world could be mitigated as long as we put more effort into supporting them with more food and farming techniques.