In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

Agricultural industry has witnessed much progress since the first Green revolution of this era, in terms of newer technologies and innovations. However, unfortunately, yet, many people across the globe sleep empty stomach because of lack of food. This essay shall elaborate on some of the reasons and provide solutions to tackle the issue.

The reasons are several & daunting, undoubtedly. Foremost, is the exponential growth in population, much so in third world regions, where also the impact of inadequate food is the highest. Secondly, the existing flawed model of the industry, where presence of multiple number of intermediaries between the farmer and the customer lead to disproportionate dilution of the amount paid to the farmer compared to what was actually paid by the customer. Further, bias in technology is more towards yield of crash crops rather than staple food like wheat or rice which cannot be afforded by the poor, aggravating the plight even more. In addition, there is also a lack of storage facilities, particularly in a country like India, which leads to destruction and wastage of harvested food either due to rains or rodents.

To my knowledge, the solutions to these grave problems could begin with controlling the population growth even if it means applying stringent rules like what was once done in China. Furthermore, Government policies to omit the "middle man" should be in place, so that actual cost of the raw food can be enjoyed by the farmers, which will also stop the inflation of food price. For instance, in Africa, the coffee beans of supreme quality are bought by rich business companies, at an extremely cheap rate, to sell as processed chocolates, which we buy at an exorbitant price. Moreover, facilities should be made available by the authorities to the farmers right from purchase of a better quality seed to cheap fertilizers until adequate storage of food to continue the quality chain at a reasonable price.

To conclude, there are several reasons to the existing problem of starvation as enumerated above, however, they can be handled just by formulating and applying streamlined government regulations and policies.