In spite of advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still hungry. Why is this case? What can be done about this problem?

Many argue that the inflation rate is the reason why people in the world still suffer from hunger despite the advancement in the agriculture sector. However, a price control policy made by the authority can tackle this issue.

The jump in the inflation rate is predominantly the reason why people in the world still starve from hunger, causing low purchasing power for underprivileged people to buy meals. To put it more simply, even though the supply is available, people from poor conditions still could not afford to buy basic food necessities due to the price increase. As Statistics recorded that more than 100.000 Venezuelan reported food deprivation during winter after the inflation rate skyrocketed by more than 10,000% in 2019, a piece of bread would cost for a car. Hence, the inflation rate has proven to increase hunger issues.

However, a price control done by the authority can solve the food inflation rate, preventing underprivileged people from starvation. This is because the government has the power to subsidize production costs which results in lower food prices for the market. For instance, rice scarcity happened on the east side of Indonesia due to failed crops in1965, causing rice prices to jump by 200%. The price went back to normal in two years after the government created policies consisting of subsidies targeted at farmers. More than 100 people were found dead due to starvation caused by the inability to afford rice. Nonetheless, price policies have proven to solve the hunger issue.

In conclusion, although the agriculture sector has improved, hunger is still experienced by people due to inflation. Nonetheless, price regulation is the ultimate solution to this problem. The government needs to allocate more funds to subsidize this program.