Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effect?

It is argued by many that addiction is the impact of people and children spending too much time playing computer games. However, this could be mitigated by the supervisor's role to regulate screen time strictly.

Spending a significant amount of time on computer games leads to severe addiction, causing further mental health problems. To put it more simply, the sense of winning when playing video games stimulates the brain to produce dopamine, a hormone of craving. Thus, the more they win over a game, the bigger their craving for dopamine as it gives them the sense of feeling good. A study from Harvard University in 2006 suggests that more than 50% of highschooler in Massachusetts that spend more than 8 hours playing computer games suffer from chronic anxiety disorder a year later. Thus, video games lead to choric mental health diseases.

Nonetheless, screen time limitations regulated by parents can tackle this issue as children are forced to reduce their time playing computer games. This regulation leads to a brain resetting its amount of dopamine consumption. The adjustment of dopamine consumption in the brain would lower anxiety as children are prone to feel rewarded over little things. For instance, a survey done by a Yale psychiatrist in 2011 showed that 90% of children in New York who suffer from anxiety disorder due to spending too large time on video games feel better after their mother prohibits them from playing video games for more than 2 hours. Hence, screen time limitations for playing games reduce anxiety in children.

To sum up, although playing computer games for a considerable amount of time results in addiction, a strict screen time rule operated by parents can tackle this problem. Thus, good family communication is needed to support that solution.