In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

Nowadays, although we can see substantial improvement in agriculture, many people from certain countries also struggle with a shortage of food. Both geographical and political factors caused this problem, which can be resolved by techniques and some NGOs.

From the geographical aspect, some countries are more easily to be suffered from extreme weather because of their geographical position. This means that their agriculture is too weak to support the food supply. For instance, some Africa counties are located in the deep desert where they even cannot cultivate any crops. Otherwise, some countries, like India, have to face extreme weather conditions, such as drought and flood which can quickly harm their whole agricultural system, especially when they should face the same difficult situation every year.

From the political aspect, there are many reasons responsible for the problem of hunger. Firstly, it is difficult to get enough food during the war. Those people who live in the Middle East area lack supplement of food due to the destruction of agriculture and transportation. Secondly, some countries impose a restriction to provide people with food, like North Korea. This causes a problem that people cannot get enough food without the leader's allowance.

Fortunately, new technology and active NGOs can partly deal with these problems. The government can invest a new agricultural system which is more suitable for its country, like Iran, which has a total different irrigation system used in the desert. In addition, NGOs also play an essential role in international help. They transfer food from different places and distribute food to somewhere needed.