In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

The cutting-edge tech of the modern era has not only made life much easier and convenient, but also has greatly reduced the efforts required in many works. One of such area is the agriculture which has flourished immensely, even though; there have been no significant changes in number of starving people of the world. Here, I will be digging up the roots of dilemma and some plausible cures.

As regards to the origin of this mess, the ruling one is presence of multiple intermediaries in the market which help the general public to avail food at their homes or at a specific location. To instantiate, farmers grow food in their fields, sell it to producer, from whom wholesaler and retailers buy the product to vend it consumer. Following the lead is the inflation in the prices of good due to factors like import and export, availability of viver in locality, currency of exchange. However, this makes it very less feasible for impoverish to enjoy the luxury of one basic need of life. A leading example is trade between US and India, in which, latter often bring in provisions not being produced in domestic market and selling unique food of the country to former nation at hefty prices. All these reasons contribute to starvation of population around the world.

Latching onto curatives of the malady, these are actually quite simple with some major and minor drawbacks. The prepotent and most straightforward is to lessen the number of arbitrators from the trade and directly provide food to consumers, although, it might diminish employment opportunities. Therefore, it is never seen in any market or country around the world. The more reasonable one is providing subsidies on the goods to people, respective to their income. For instance, income tax is charged according to earnings of a person in India and if the same can be applied to food subsidies, then certainly, it will be boon for many.

To reiterate, famine is not something which can be cleansed in a one go, it requires some careful and rational steps with the support from every possible person such as researchers, public, authorities, scientists and so on.