Some people claim that not enough waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Environment pollution is burgeoning at an alarming rate due to number of factors. One of which is insufficient recycling of the domestic household garbage. To which, masses opine that making it a legislative obligation is the sole way to encourage people toward it. Even though, I believe it is not an exclusive method as there are many other things society and government can do.

There is not denying the fact that making recycling illegal on the people will push them towards it. However, I think this method will not be much effective as there are chunk of masses who likes to break the law or does not care about it a single pit. To cite an example, in India most people deliberate leave break laws such as traffic, illegal driving and many more. Although, people who care about the environment and healthy lifestyle will be much happier and follow this law rigourously and will do anything in their power to promote cycling and other people.

Emphasising on the other aspects, government can launch recycling and environment awareness campaigns to let the public know about the dangers and harms caused by the garbage that is thrown out by them and not recycled. For instance, usually dogs or other animals eat food or other plastic items which causes harmful diseases in them and also pollute the environment as these waste release harmful gases when burned or destroyed. Another facet is teaching the young children in the school about the benefits of recycling as they are the future generation who will be responsible for the environment and its care. a perfect example of this can be seen in technology field where young generation is showing there talent leaving behind the old generation.

To conclude, recycling the waste material or unwanted things is more of a matter of choice rather than pressurising someone to do it which may lead to some harmful responses and effects from the public.