Big shopping malls are coming every day and small shops are shutting down. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this to common man?

Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

With the uprising of colossal shopping malls, many domestic outlets are closing down leading to birth of vast maladies for the average person. Even though, it is unmistakably also have conducive effects on the society and person.

Monumental supermarkets are all in one destination for a person to buy anything of need. Under a single roof, there are clothing shops, gaming arcades, fitness centers, food stores along with some other entertainments like cinema. All of this is in one enclosed space where there are no such worries of traffic as these come with in-built parking areas. A good example of it is Pavilion Shopping Complex in my hometown which is often full of hustle and bustle – mainly of people who came there to watch movies or for shopping – with people, just enjoying their leisure time. In addition to all of it, money spent on these contribute to economic growth of the country, while, helping to reduce on road traffic.

As regards to adverse affects, the preponderant one which cannot be ignored is the closure of compact outlets which is accounted for some of the development of country. Even though, big shopping complexes may or may not be directly linked with such occurrence, it is often very disparaging as at the end, the one who’s losing out most is the owner of a small shop. To instantiate, most stores nearby by the large hypermarkets often being not able to compete them, ultimately suffers losses and closes down, whereas, other close down of financial crisis as they may not often generate much revenue as customers prefer visit malls more which provide relaxing environment. Another obvious drawback of such huge building as they often sell things at much higher cost than market price which is often disregarded as being a part of an entity with vast diversity of things from all over the world. To illustrate, food outlets like burger, noodles which’s cost is only 20-25 rupees in the local shops, are worth 100-150 rupees in the complexes.

To hammer it all down, stupendous shopping malls are full of goodness and stains, whether known or not known. As a matter of fact, what matters more is the preference of people and if they want to, they can go on a shopping spree in these colossus building or just be delightful in small-scale retail stores.