In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case? causes

What can be done about this problem? Solutions

Nowadays, the use of technology has led to great advances and improvements in the field of agriculture; however, we can find a lot of regions in the world that suffer from famines and shortage of essential food supplies. In this essay, we will evaluate the potential causes and try to find out possible and affordable solutions for this overwhelming problem.

The causes of food shortage had many independent reasons. Firstly, the tremendous increase in the population number over the last few years. Actually, the presence of overcrowding areas can overtake the production of certain essential alimentary products; for example, in some countries with overpopulation, the production of wheat and rice is less than the demand. Secondly, the occurrence of droughts or shortage of water can result in the death of plants or at least poor production of food. For instance, in Africa, the countries at the equator often suffer from the deficiency of water supplies inducing a direct impact on the total corps production.

Thinking about a single solution is not a prompt way to overcome such a problem. In other words, we should provide many solutions working at the same time to defeat hunger these days and prevent its occurrence in the future. Initially, we need to put a long-term plane to redistribute the current population in non-crowded areas with sufficient water sources. Simultaneously, the use of contraception should be globally encouraged aiming to decrease the number of population. On the other side, the developed countries should afford aids and support to poor countries or those with food and water crises. Unfortunately, some rich countries don’t provide such help to certain poor areas due to political conflicts.

To sum up, despite the recent advances in the methods of cultivation, many areas around the world have problems related to the unavailability of essential agricultural products. Although the causes of such a problem could be well-defined, the possible solutions are not easy to carry out due to the lack of international cooperation.