Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some people believe that oral communication is more effective than written communication. I partly agree with this assertion; while it may be true in the case of some societies, others seem to consider written form to be more powerful.

On the one hand, spoken words are more useful than written ones when it comes to a situation that requiring body languages and facial expressions. Take dating as an example, it is better to set up a face-to-face conversation with a person we have feelings for than just sitting at home and texting via devices. Moreover, spoken languages will give us a better understanding of the person we are communicating with. It will be easier to guess the true feelings of the person we are talking to directly through his or her expressions and gestures, however, it may be impossible to do that just by reading some messages.

On the other hand, written languages are better than spoken ones in some certain circumstances. For example, in some formal occasions such as weddings or ceremonies, a formal card is a great choice not only to comprehensively inform the guests of the events but also to express the consideration of the hosts. Additionally, in most of business cases, writing documents are required to keep track of the correspondence among relevant parties as valid evidence. In these cases, written contracts are considered as legitimate agreements in order to avoid confusion or conflict.

In conclusion, as the reasons have been mentioned above, verbal communication is more preferable in the situation that requires body languages while written form should be used in terms of formal events and business.