Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Communication continues to be a controversial topic in the society. Some people believe that it will be more powerful for the information to be exchanged in speech instead of in writing. In my opinion, I disagree with this idea and I will explain them now.

On the one hand, it is true that in various situations, spoken communication is an optimal way to transfer information and to solve immediately. By face to face, people can show their emotion through integrating intonation and face expressions while written language requires amount of time to readers understand the writer’s feeling. Furthermore, in extremely urgent case, when it has a traffic accident, calling an ambulance is more rational to describe the scene situation than sending message to the hospital. Consequently, they need some time to figure out what is happening or maybe they pass this message.

However, in other cases, written communication is more important than speaking between individuals, organizations or countries. For instance, when overseas students need to hire a house to live for several years, they and the landlord have to use their signatures in a mediation agreement. Without contract, if they have disputation, no third side can handle with no evidence. Eventually, since verbal language is sometimes untrustworthy and fragile, landlord might unilaterally terminate the tenancy agreement. In addition, writing appears to be more effective than speaking when the information is too complicated or needs to be understand exactly such as doctors prescriptions.

In conclusion, my own view is that no accept spoken words is more powerful than written words because both of them are equally important, depending on the circumstances.