A staggering amount of food is wasted every year, both in businesses and households. Why is this happening? What can be done to tackle this problem?

Annually people generate huge amounts of food waste while running their businesses and households. One of the reasons behind this issue is that more food products are produced and bought by customers than they actually need. In order to solve the problem of food waste, the human community should study customer needs more carefully, and consider bio-recycling technologies that could reuse wisely the excess products.

First of all, it is important to consider a possible cause of food waste. Over-producing food products, especially with short expiration dates, might often lead to a consequent problem of failing to sell or distribute all the items in time. For instance, as Daily News journal reports, the popular supermarket in the UK Tesco has in average 10% of products that end up in the food waste at the end of each working day. Similarly, consumers over-estimate their abilities to consume food, according to the same source. By filling the shopping basket for the whole week, they throw away approximately 15% of items.

From one point of view, the problem solution might start with customer analysis approaches, which include the research and development of the ways to predict customer needs in more precise way. From another point of view, there should be better bio-recycling arrangements. For example, one famous Russian supermarket reuses the spoilt products to produce agricultural additives.

To sum up, the food waste is a vital problem nowadays, which has a certain cause among others. Decision-makers in businesses and households should study the ways to prevent this problem and deal with the current situation appropriately.