Start up your own company or working in a big firm, which is more preferable for post-graduate

After graduating is a vital period in an individual’ s career path. Students have to choose between working as a startup or in a corporate because each type of workplace offers different benefits, but they also pose some tough challenges.

On one hand, if students start their own business, they and their employees would have to perform a number of roles by themselves because there are a few people in the team. This could lead to stress from work and may quickly turn into a high turnover of staff. Besides, due to a limited source of capital, members of startups will not receive a high salary, especially in the embryonic stage; instead, they will learn a lot of experiences since they play different roles to find out what they really want in a long-term career. In addition to such experiences, a startup also provides more flexible hours. Everyone can work from home as long as they can meet the deadline, which allows them to have a short time for travel and other entertainment activities.

On the other hand, large companies with huge financial resources could provide various perquisites for employees. For example, nearly all social insurance fees of workers will be paid by big firms, whereas startups only cover partially. Furthermore, there will be vacation days that employees are permitted to take each year as well as the parties set up for special occasions of the company while being entrepreneurs will not have time for those recreations. The career ladder is also more apparent when working in corporate, which is partly because of the good organizational structure. Nonetheless, the requirements for post-graduates to working in a big company is quite demanding as if their manners are not professional enough or knowledge is just rudimentary, the reputation of the company would be ruined.

In conclusion, each option has both merits and demerits, graduates should consider carefully before making the final decision.